wolf banner

Legislative Finance Committee (LFC)

The Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) is an extension of the GPSA Council that functions to oversee the applications and review process of funding requests. The LFC conducts hearings for financial allocations and forwards its committee recommendation to the Council to be voted on in a full Council meeting and ultimately forwarded on to the GPSA President.

The Council Chair organizes the membership of the LFC with approval of the full Council. LFC members are selected from the current Council Representatives and must include representation from a minimum of three different colleges.

The LFC conducts processes for appropriation requests and also for annual budget requests.  Appropriations are accepted throughout most of the academic year and provide chartered student organizations with funding primarily for travel, events, capital expenditures, and unforeseen expenditures which were not a part of their operating budget.  In the Spring, the LFC oversees the annual budget process which balances the upcoming fiscal year’s budget by allocating GPSA funding to the GPSA government and to the operating budgets of chartered student organizations.


Student organizations looking for money to fund one time expenses (events, travel, etc.) may apply for an appropriation. To learn more and to apply for an appropriations please visit the appropriations request page.

Upcoming Appropriation Deadlines:

  • TBA

Annual Budget

GPSA also allows for the allocation of budgets to chartered student organizations for yearly expected expenditures. To apply for a budget one MUST apply during the annual budget cycle (February-April) of the academic calendar prior to receiving funding. For more information, please visit the annual budget information page. Applications were due Friday, February 21st at 5:00pm. Budget hearings will be held Saturday/Sunday, March 1 & 2 in SUB Mirage/Thunderbird. Click here to see the Spring 2014 Budget Hearing Schedule.

Annual GPSA Budget FY2014-2015

Legislative Finance Committee Members

Talal Saint-Lôt, Committee Chair nuntuket@unm.edu
Dennis Flannigan, Voting Member dlflann@gmail.com
Melissa Berghmans, Voting Member melissab@unm.edu
James Davenport, Voting Member jdavenp@unm.edu
James Foty, Voting Member foty@unm.edu
Lecia Weber, Voting Member lweber@unm.edu
Sai Kumar Uppu, Voting Member saikumar@unm.edu

Standing Rules

PDF LFC Standing Rules