wolf banner



President - Alaa Elmaoued (gpsapres@unm.edu)

School of Medicine

Alaa Elmaoued is a 4th year Medical Student who olds a Master's degree in Nanoscience. Alaa has been involved in GPSA for the past several years and previously served as the Graduate Health Committee Chair from 2014 to 2016. His goals as GPSA President include increasing collaboration between the various graduate departments, encouraging interdisciplinary networking among graduate students at UNM, and serving as an advocate for all students, including those who are non-traditional, immigrants, refugees, and/or students of color. He is also committed to improving the GPSA Grants process, to make it more inclusive and departmentally representative. In his limited free time, Alaa enjoys spending time with his family, meeting new people, debating with his friends, cooking and eating delicious food, hiking, and watching cartoons. 

Council Chair - TBD (gpsacouncil@unm.edu)



Mark NarvaezChief of Staff - Trajuan Briggs (gpsacos@unm.edu)

College of Education

Trajuan Briggs is a first year Masters in Sport Administration student in the College of Education's Health, Exercise, & Sport Sciences Program. Raised in San Fernando, California, Trajuan attended the University of California-Berkeley, before transferring to the University of New Mexico. A student and two-time letterman Lobo football player, he received a B.A. in Liberal Arts 2014. After graduating, Trajuan began to cover USC athletics for the SB Nation website in 2015 producing articles, podcasts, and web-series. In 2016 Trajuan put the microphone down and picked up a whistle returning to New Mexico to become a graduate assistant for the Lobo football team. Trajuan enjoys reading, bowling, and facetiming his little sister who resides in California whenever he is not doing homework.

Deputy Chief of Staff - TBD (gpsaproj@unm.edu)  

Elections Chair  - TBD  (votegpsa@unm.edu)

Finance Chair - TBD (gpsafin@unm.edu)

This could be YOU!

Interested in becoming the GPSA Finance Chair? Want more information about the role or how to apply? Click here!

SallyGrants Chair - Sally Barker (gpsafunding@unm.edu)

School of Public Administration

Sally Barker completed her undergraduate degree in English. After traveling the world working for Kaplan and seeing places like Chicago, IL and Farmington, NM she decided to return to Graduate School to study Public Administration. Currently, she is interested in focusing on public management. She is very enthusiastic about facilitating the collaboration between administration, faculty, and students here at UNM and promoting transparency and ethical behavior in financial decisions. When not studying or working, Sally enjoys relaxing at home with her 1 kitten, reading all of the books, hanging out with friends and family, going to concerts, and playing outside. Sally is very competitive, and likes winning - challenge her to any game at your peril. 

TristanLobby Chair- Tristan Adams (gpsalobb@unm.edu)

School of Public Health/School of Medicine

Tristen Adams graduated summa cum laude from the University of New Mexico with a double major in Biology and Spanish and a minor in Chemistry. She is a dual-degree medical and Master in Public Health student. Through various experiences, she has learned that health is more than the lack of injury; health is an evolving, multifaceted part of everyone that is intimately connected to where one lives, eats, plays, works, etc. This outlook has impassioned her to become involved with politics and advocacy. Naturally, therefore, she became keenly interested in the Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA) Lobby Chair position. She believes she is qualified to serve in this capacity, as she has held an assortment of roles that have strengthened, matured, and taught her to be a more effective leader, better communicator and listener, and productive member of a team as well as her experiences working in varied environments with people from diverse backgrounds and cultures. She is enthusiastically ready to acquire new knowledge and skillsets that come with the territory of being Lobby Chair. She looks forward to a lifelong career of collaboration, advocacy, and policy and values the opportunity to serve as a student leader in the GPSA. When not pursuing advocacy work and academic endeavors, she enjoys traveling, dancing, and being outside, enjoying the NM weather! 

Programs Chair- TBD  (gpsaprog@unm.edu)

This could be YOU!

Interested in becoming the Programs Chair? Want more information about the role or how to apply? Click here!

Student Support & Advocacy Chair - TBD (gpsasupport@unm.edu)

This could be YOU!

Interested in becoming the GPSA Finance Chair? Want more information about the role or how to apply? Click here


Graduate Health Chair - TBD  (gpsahealth@unm.edu)


Marilu MelendezOffice Manager - Marilu Melendez (gpsaoff@unm.edu)

School of Architecture and Planning

Marilu Melendez is completing her first Master’s Degree in Architecture and Planning. Her interests include management and social outreach. When not working, she enjoys learning about all of Texas’ policies and culture. She also enjoys running half-marathons. 


Legislative Steering Committee Chair- TBD  (gpsalsc@unm.edu)



Chief Justice - Taylor Smith

School of Law

Taylor Smith is a third-year law student. He currently works at the New Mexico Court of Appeals. Taylor plans on pursuing constitutional law and civil rights litigation after graduation. 


Associate Justice - Valeria Garcia

Valeria is working towards dual degrees in M.A. in Latin American Studies and a J.D. from the UNM School of Law. Valeria aims to remain at UNM to pursue her graduate studies because of the campus' diversity and its overall welcoming and accepting environment. Growing up in a Latin American family helped her to see the needs of Latin American immigrants here in the U.S., which drove to her decision to pursue a dual MA LAS/JD degree. Valeria has served as a Teaching Assistant in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese for two years and currently assists with English to Spanish translation of K-12 curriculum materials with the LAII. After completing her degrees, Valeria plans to practice immigration, family law, or criminal law in New Mexico.