wolf banner

Follow us on

Facebook twitter

MSC03 2210
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
Student Union Building

Phone: (505) 277-3803


The Executive Branch is headed by the GPSA President, who is elected every Spring. Together with the executive staff, the president advocates for graduate students’ interests at UNM. The president’s duties include:

  • Serves as the official representative of GPSA to the Board of Regents and the public.
  • Approves or vetoes all GPSA legislation.
  • Appoints Executive Committee chairs.
  • Oversees the executive finances and budget.
  • Serves as a chairperson on the Student Fee Review Board (SFRB).

The executive also consists of six executive standing committees. Standing Committees are permanent committees that perform important GPSA functions, such as administering the grants process, hosting events, and lobbying for student interests in the state legislature. The President may also form ad-hoc committees to address specific issues or take on special projects. These committees are dissolved at the end of the President’s term.

Executive Board

The GPSA Executive Board is composed of the GPSA President, Council Chair, Chief of Staff and all standing committee chairs. The executive board:

  • Makes decisions on behalf of the GPSA Council between Council meetings, as necessary.
  • Reports to Council on financial needs, obligations, and budget compliance.
  • Revises and updates personnel policies, including job descriptions.
  • Makes recommendations to Council regarding GPSA Committees.

To get involved with any Executive Committee, or if you have any questions, please contact the chair(s) listed below.

Executive Board Members 2017 - 2018*

President: Alaa Elmaoued, School of Medicine
Council Chair: 
Chief of Staff: Trajuan Briggs, College of Education

Committee Chairs

Elections: TBA
Finance: Marisa Martinez, Anderson School of Business
Grants: Sally Barker, School of Public Administration
Lobby: Tristan Adams, School of Medicine
Programs: TBA
Student Support & Advocacy: TBA

* All colleges at the University may be represented on the Executive Board, including the Colleges of Arts & Sciences, Education, Fine Arts, Nursing, and Pharmacy; and the Schools of Architecture & Planning, Engineering, Law, Management, Medicine, Public Administration, and Public Health. Additional members from colleges and schools not represented on the Board may be appointed by the Council.